Can I Recover Compensation if I Was Partially at Fault for a Car Accident?
When a car accident occurs, people often assume only one party is entirely responsible for the crash. However, in most cases, multiple people share the fault. For example, if you rear-end a car but the driver in front of you slams their brakes without giving you time to stop, both of you share the responsibility for the accident. Fortunately, you can still receive compensation in Florida if you are partially at fault for the accident.
If you share a portion of the fault for a Florida car accident, our compassionate team at the Law Offices of Scott Sobol can help you fight for your rights and advocate for the compensation you deserve. We understand the complicated nature of these claims and have the skills to negotiate with insurance companies, who often attempt to assign unfair blame. Our communicative professionals explain your legal options in easily digestible, concise terms, so you can make the best decisions for your needs.
Comparative Negligence and Florida Car Accident Claims
If you are partially at fault for a car accident in Florida, you can still receive compensation for your injuries thanks to the state’s pure comparative negligence system. This means each party involved in the accident receives a percentage of fault, and this percentage gets deducted from their damages.
For example, if you suffered $100,000 in damages and are 20% at fault for the accident, your compensation will be reduced by 20%, and you will receive $80,000. Our knowledgeable lawyers understand the tactics insurance companies use to assign you an unfair fault percentage, so we fight tirelessly to help ensure you receive just compensation based on the details of the accident and the severity of your injuries.
What Damages Can You Recover After a Florida Car Accident?
Even if you are partially responsible for a car accident, you can still recover damages for the injuries the other party caused. Depending on your unique circumstances, you may receive compensation for the following:
- Property damage
- Current and future medical bills
- Lost wages from missed work
- Pain and suffering
- Prescribed medications
- Rehabilitation and physical therapy
- Mental anguish
- Reduced quality of life
When collecting damages after a car accident, it’s important to know that Florida is a no-fault state, so drivers must carry personal injury protection (PIP) insurance to pay for damages. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles states that every Florida driver must carry at least $10,000 of PIP insurance and $10,000 in property damage liability for any damage you cause to someone else’s vehicle.
You may still seek compensation from another party if you suffered severe injuries, but you have to prove their negligence directly caused your injuries. Regardless of your circumstances, we can help you understand your insurance policy and what to do to achieve a fair settlement.
Schedule a Complimentary Consultation With a Highly-Skilled Car Accident Lawyer at the Law Offices of Scott Sobol
The aftermath of a car accident can be overwhelming, especially if you suffered injuries. If you were partially at fault, you might not know your rights or how to proceed to receive compensation. Our seasoned team at the Law Offices of Scott Sobol can help you recover damages, even if you carry a portion of responsibility for the accident. The laws and policies involved in these claims can be confusing, so we can help you fully understand them and your legal options.
Having a trustworthy lawyer on your side is essential to achieving a successful outcome. Our caring legal team listens to your story and fights for your rights to bring you peace of mind and customized services that set us apart from others. We have successfully represented thousands of victims in Florida, so we have the skills and knowledge to take on your claim. To schedule a free case consultation, fill out our contact form or call (954) 440-2000.
If you have been injured in a car accident due to someone else’s negligence in Florida, state law requires you to turn to your ...
Whether you get into a car accident, slip and fall on someone’s property, or experience medical malpractice, rarely is one par ...
How to File a DUI Injury Claim in Florida - 02/05/23
When driving on Florida roads, all drivers owe each other a duty to act carefully and safely. Unfortunately, many people neglect thi ...